Georgia's Congressional District 6 - Special Runoff Election

05/31/17 10:02 am

Reports indicate that election activity surrounding the upcoming runoff election to fill the vacancy in Congressional 6 district has been unprecedented when compared to past special elections and particularly runoff elections.  Historically, a turnout of 5% for a special runoff election is the norm, but requests for absentee by mail balloting has already surpassed that percentage with over 6500 ballots having been mailed to voters in the district in DeKalb County.  


Turnout is expected to ramp up this week with the opening of advance voting at four satellite locations in the District, in addition to the mandatory location at the Memorial Drive office.  This is the first time that DeKalb County Board of Registration & Elections has authorized satellite advance voting for a runoff election. The advance voting schedule offers voting hours extended to 6 PM daily and one Saturday.

Also, to provide equal availability of advance voting to the voters of Dunwoody for the Special Congressional 6 Runoff election, the Board of Registration and Elections announced the relocation of the advance voting site from the Dunwoody Library to Dunwoody Methodist Church, located at 1548 Mt. Vernon Rd., Dunwoody, GA 30338. The voting period and hours at this location will be the same as the other advance voting locations.  

The schedule for advance voting, which starts Tuesday, May 30, is as follows:


Main Location:            

Registration & Elections Office

4380 Memorial Drive, Suite 300

Decatur, GA  30032


Briarwood Recreation Center

2235 Briarwood Way, NE

Brookhaven, GA  30319


North DeKalb Senior Center

3393 Malone Drive

Chamblee, GA  30341


Dunwoody Methodist Church

1548 Mount Vernon Road

Dunwoody, GA  30338


Tucker Recreation Center

4898 LaVista Road

Tucker, GA  30084

All locations opened, May 30 through Friday, June 16 and Saturday, June 10.  Voting hours Monday through Friday are 8 AM to 6 PM.  Voting hours for Saturday, June 10, are 9 AM to 4 PM.  There will be no voting on Saturday, June 17, or Monday, June 19.  Voters must report to their polling places on Election Day, June 20.  Election Day hours are 7 AM to 7 PM. 

Note that this election is only open to voters in the sixth district which includes Brookhaven, Chamblee, Doraville, Dunwoody and parts of Tucker. 

Voters can get more information at or by calling 404-298-4020.

Go back

(Commissioner Jeff Rader represents District Two on DeKalb County's Board of Commissioners. He was reelected in November of 2010 for another four-year term.)

Please encourage your neighbors to sign up for my e-mail updates. Go to my web site,, and click on the "news signup" link at the bottom.